Nothing Out of the Ordinary

Posted: May 24, 2010 in Story of the day
Tags: , , , ,

I coach Filipino girls’ offensive/defensive line at school.

This is something that just sort of happened.  I’ve always seen myself as somewhat different for as long as I could remember.  As a youngster I really got into skateboarding, listened to scream-o rock music (still do), and wore 100% polyester dragon shirts to school… everyday. I wanted to be myself, and even though it’s not the average or stereotypical way of life for a young black boy growing up near Chicago, I liked it and that’s all that mattered.

I joined the Philippine Student Association at my university in hopes of broadening my horizon, and I became attached to the organization after a couple weeks of playing basketball with the guys and meeting some pretty cool people.  I joined their football team that plays UIC, Loyola, DePaul and NIU in a one day, tackle tournament in Chicago. The event is called Rice Bowl. I played defensive end for the men’s team and we went undefeated, taking home an awesome trophy in the process.

Long story short, I became Athletic Chair of the organization the next year and was  head coordinator for the annual tournament. There is also a women’s team which plays two-hand-touch.  When I became chair, I coached the girls offensive/defensive line  and set up all our practices.  It was hard work that year, but it paid off, as they  too went undefeated!  I was so proud of them, and was exhausted from the long year. The girls really heeded my advice and direction, and I couldn’t have asked for a more dedicated bunch.  They deserved to win.

We’ll try to bring home two trophies next year…

(Photo credits: hover over each photo to view photographers– check out their photos at http://www.brenansalgado.com/blog and http://www.flickr.com/photos/jondayrit/)

Comments
  1. irwinallen says:

    good stuff big D. didn’t know you had a blog. i’ll be following it now bro for sure.

Leave a Reply

